Travel Clutter

July 15, 2009

lagoon

Are you getting ready to venture off for your summer vacation?

Remember, a vacation is time to relax, spend time with friends or family and explore.  You don’t have to spend this precious time buying souvenirs for yourself and those at home.

I grew up doing that.  Even a vacation going to Cape Cod (a little over an hour away) I would spend time finding the right t-shirt for this one, the right mug, nick knack or piece of jewelry for the other.

I have to admit last year when I was in Hawaii I realized I spent to much time shopping for the gang at home.  I like popping around the various stores, but I did not like the feeling of “have to” while on vacation.  This was totally self inflicted.  My parents would have preferred I save the money or  spend it on an activity there.  And it is not like I have never brought them back anything from Hawaii…I’ve been there 6 or so times!

While organizing kitchens I find shelves and shelves full of mugs and glasses from various vacations.  Sitting there, collecting dust and taking up valuable “prime real estate” in the cabinet.  Lots of  T and sweat shirts from various places can be found in closets and dresser drawers.  Again, many not worn but kept as a “memory” from a trip or a trip that someone else took.

You don’t have to keep a mug to remember your trip.  You don’t have to keep it just because someone else gave it to you.  If you love mugs and use them great, but if they are kept as a memory you can let them go.  Do you remember the fun time?  Do you remember the island or country you visited?  Do you have photos or video from the trip?  If you really want to buy something as a  remembrance, buy 1 nice thing that you will cherish and use or wear.  Every time you do, it will remind you of that special place.  Trying to jam items into your kitchen cabinet or dresser drawer because there is too much travel clutter WILL NOT remind you of that fun time!  Don’t inflict this on family and friends if you are the traveler.

If there is something that you cannot let go,  decide if you use or where it.  If you do, keep it in your main space.  If you do not and you are keeping it as a memento, then it should be out of the prime area, and put in your keepsake box.

Happy travels!

Small signature

One Response to “Travel Clutter”


  1. […] Go here to see the original:  Travel Clutter « Organizing Expert – The Personal Trainer for Your … […]


Comments are closed.

