Organize Your Health

March 23, 2009

42-16935544

Today was the day of my annual skin check.  This is an important thing to do once a year.  It only takes less than 1/2 hour and it gives you the security in knowing that all is fine…that all the years of sun have not done any damage. I was a baby oil girl back in the day!   I never thought this was very important until a dear friend of mine was diagnosed with some serious skin cancers.  Catching it early was very important.

Be sure to schedule all of your yearly/bi-yearly check ups.  Today, I made my appointment for next year.  It makes it easy.  I decided to make next year’s appointment on my birthday.  That way I get to take the day off!  I usually have a spring dental appointment.  Gonna schedule that now for the same day.   I will start the year off fresh…and end the day with a massage to celebrate!

When thinking about Organizing your Health, here are some other things to think about for you and your family:

  • Create a listing of medications & medical history.   This info is important if a trip to the ER arises. You won’t have to worry about missing anything if you are in a stressful situation.
  • Do you have an I.C.E. number in your cell phone?  ICE is short for In Case of Emergency.  If something happens to you, and you are alone, people helping you (good Samaritans, emergency medical folks) will know who to contact on your behalf.
  • Make sure your family members have copies of important documents relating to your health, including health care proxy, organ donation, etc.
  • Go through your first aid materials and medicines at home.  Get rid (properly) of anything that is out of date.  Organize like items together and keep them where you use them.  Create a first aid box with all the staples.  Especially if you have children, they are going to be heading out more now that the weather is better — scrapes are sure to come!
  • Keep medicines out of the reach of children.

Wishing you a very happy and healthy Spring!

small-signature8

4 Responses to “Organize Your Health”


  1. Ah, the guilt. I had a skin check appointment set up, but had to cancel. Okay, will have to get on rescheduling!


  2. Yes, please do you fair skinned beauty!

  3. matt Says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Comments are closed.

