Organizing the White House

January 21, 2009

the_white_house1

Scheduled to work from home yesterday, I hate to say I watched a lot more of the inaugural than I had planned.

The event planner and organizer in me was so curious about what was going on behind the scenes. The organization of all the events, but most of all the actual White House transition; the move out, the move in and all of the organizing.

You could see the moving trucks with the new First Family’s items in them. This would be an organizer’s dream!

Well, it took more than one. The full White House home quarters staff was on hand. 93 people in all. The Chief Usher is the one in charge of the process. By the time 12:01 stuck on the clock, all of the presidential photos were switched out. All of the unpacking had to be done by the President came “home” from the parade. That means everything — from clothing in their closets, to their favorite foods in the kitchen. Not a box to be seen. 7 trucks, in 6 hours…now that is organized!

Boy would I have liked to have been a fly on the wall or actually there doing it!

2 Responses to “Organizing the White House”


  1. That must be quite the show to see! Behind the scenes is always just as fun as the big show. I would guess the unpacking was only as good as the packing on the on the front end. I wonder if they take volunteers for the job? They do that at Christmas with the decorations.


  2. I wish! That would be fun!


Comments are closed.

